Design questions: Is it possible to bypass the gateway when using headless services in a multi-cluster setup? And is it possible to add load balancing support for headless services?

Hi, I’ve been researching how linkerd (and service meshes in general) works with k8s headless services, and have some questions. Apologies beforehand if I miss any design constraints. I’m fairly new to the whole k8s + service mesh space.

First one is about multi-cluster. According to this blog post, multi-cluster-kubernetes-with-headless-services, when routing to a headless service in a remote cluster (say R), traffic has to first go through a dedicated gateway in R. This is because the mirrored Endpoints configure the gateway’s IP as the destination. Is this a fundamental requirement? Afaik, in certain k8s setups like GKE, pod IPs are first-class and are natively routable from anywhere within the VPC. So it seems that having each mirrored Endpoint points directly to its corresponding remote pod should work, in which case we save an extra hop. Is this design possible (assuming the context)? Or maybe we then lose out on some features that require going through the gateway?

Second question is also about headless services, but within a single cluster. The linkerd doc on load balancing states this:

If working with headless services, endpoints of the service cannot be retrieved. Therefore, Linkerd will not perform load balancing and instead route only to the target IP address.